Back(b)logged — wonky log cabin quilt for Melinda

Hi again! I’m back with another quilt that I made quite a while ago, but hey, it’s new to everyone else, I guess.

This was a fun project for one of my friends as a wedding gift. I can’t imagine my time living in Texas without my friend Melinda. We had so much fun working together and hanging out. Sadly though, we both ended up moving away, and while it’s worked out great for each of us, I’m sad I don’t get to see her in person anymore. More than anyone I’ve ever met, Melinda loved college basketball, especially the University of Kansas, where she went to school. She also loves dogs more than anyone I know, so when I made this quilt for her and her husband, Robby, I knew I had to combine the two.

The quilt was planned around some KU fabric I found (here in Indiana, I think, which was kind of odd). From that, I got my color scheme, red, yellow, blue, black and white. I also used some dog fabric I had been collecting for another project, and then mixed in a bunch of other coordinating fabrics from my stash.

Image

These wonky log cabins were a lot of fun to make, but oh, did I underestimate the time it would take to make them. It probably didn’t help that the strips were cut really narrow, and the random piecing didn’t make the process any faster. I also remember that this quilt was one of the messiest and most disorganized I ever worked on, with piles of strips laying around, and me rooting through them looking for the right size, color and pattern for the next seam I planned to sew.

Despite the challenges, I love the way this turned out. Kind of wild, crazy and fun like my friend, Melinda. I really hope she and her husband are enjoying the quilt as much as I enjoyed making it for her!

Image

I quilted it with some wavy horizontal lines. I wanted to keep that part of it simple, so it wouldn’t distract from the craziness of the blocks. I used some spare blocks on the back along with a blue patterned fabric. I bound it with a cute red polka dot.

Image

I miss you, Melinda! I hope you’re doing well!

— Christy

We love hearing from you! Please leave us a comment.

