Quick quilted gift for a cool kid

Here’s yet another of my previously finished projects that was really quick and fun to make! A while ago I started a quilt-as-you-go project with wonky log cabin blocks made out of scraps. I made a few blocks but then got distracted, as I so often do.

Then I needed a gift for the daughter of a good friend of mine. Just like me as a kid (and uh, still now), Sydney loves stuffed animals. My friend often posted cute photos of her on Facebook, with Sydney’s animals being put to bed in a variety of funny locations around the house. My favorite was when a few of her animals found a bed inside her soccer shin guards. 🙂 This inspired me to make her some bedding for them.

I used one of the quilt-as-you-go blocks as a mini-quilt for her animals and also made a few pillows to go along with the quilt. Since the block was already quilted, I just had to bind it and then make the pillows, although it would be a quick go-to project from start to finish as well.

Image

Image

I really need to make more small quilts! They are so quick to finish and also give me a chance to try out new blocks, quilting patterns and other techniques. I love the idea of having more of them hanging up around the house as decoration, too. So many ideas, not nearly enough time!

— Christy